Idle thoughts

It is impossible to enjoy idling thoroughly unless one has plenty of work to do. There is no fun in doing nothing when you have nothing to do. Wasting time is merely an occupation then, and a most exhausting one. Idleness, like kisses, to be sweet must be stolen.

So said Jerome K Jerome in his essay On Being Idle. Much of this journal project is in that spirit, although I also hope that this will help me marshall my thoughts on the subjects I set out to explore as well as serve as an archive of intersting items that I come across.

Jerome’s essays are collected in his book, Idle Thoughts of an Idle Fellow and in a similar way (without the humour unfortunately) I plan to flesh out some idle thoughts of my own. These relate more to engineering and development – plans and dreams of what will probably never be built, but hopefully realistic nevertheless. Here are a quick few:

  • Could my hometown of Durban sustain a light rail system?
  • My acheivable dream eco home
  • Regeneration ideas for some local areas
  • Solving this problem
  • A rural development project with bikes
  • and so on…
Leave a Reply

